Stocking Stuffers: Our Breakfast of Champions

Stocking Stuffer Snacks

A few years ago, I started stuffing my children’s stockings with breakfast. My boys, as a general rule, were early morning risers, and I knew Christmas morning would be no exception. I also knew that on normal mornings, my boys were already “starving” and begging for food before I could even get the light on in the kitchen.

So, I stuffed the boys’ stockings with breakfast instead of candy and junk toys. Back then, I still bought packaged snacks and treats, so I stuffed the stocking with raisin boxes, juice boxes, some packaged granola bars, and fruit snacks, along with new toothbrushes, toothpaste, and other fun surprises. You know what? They loved it. They happily snacked away while we opened presents and played, and they weren’t begging for food as I prepared our Christmas brunch.

Since that first Christmas, I have become much more conscious about avoiding pre-packaged foods. So, I started making a few breakfast items in advance and storing them in the freezer to pull out Christmas Eve. I am going to make an assortment of snacks next week, and I thought I would give you guys some ideas, too.

Some ideas for Breakfast Stocking Stuffers:

  • mini muffins
  • juice or milk boxes
  • fresh fruit (Clementines are my favorite.)
  • sausage balls
  • raisins or dried cranberries
  • nuts
  • granola trail mix or granola bars
  • breakfast cookies
  • fruit leather
  • scones (We like pumpkin and chocolate chip ones.)
  • cheddar crackers (like Cheez-Its but with a kick.)

Check out my Pinterest board for all of these snack-y, breakfast-y ideas and the links to all of the recipes!

(Even if you do not have a Pinterest account, you can still access the links.)

  1. #1 by Jessica Howard (@quirkybookworm) on December 13, 2012 - 3:27 pm

    What a cute idea!

  2. #2 by coolhandandrew on December 13, 2012 - 4:09 pm

    What on earth is fruit leather?

  3. #3 by kellywiggains on December 13, 2012 - 4:47 pm

    homemade fruit roll ups. hahaha.

  4. #4 by Elizabeth on December 14, 2012 - 2:14 pm

    I tried that fruit leather…it ended up crunchy and crumbly. Did you get it so that it was soft and fruit-roll-upy? Any tips?

  5. #5 by kellywiggains on December 14, 2012 - 3:12 pm

    Judging from the comments on the recipe, it looks like crispy and crumbly means it cooked too long. I would say to definitely use parchment paper or one of those sil-pat things and not cook it as long.

Leave a Reply

