Reading During My Moving Hiatus

Penske Truck

photo via compfight.com

Using the word hiatus makes my month of moving craziness sound more enjoyable than it was. Believe me, most of it was not enjoyable. I’ve packed and unpacked a house around nine times now, not counting packing and unpacking from college, and it still does not get any easier. I’m always amazed at the amount of stuff our little family owns even though I’m no longer sentimental (I used to keep everything. Moving every two years has killed my nostalgic spirit.)

Even though we were in the middle of this moving gig, I still read a few books in between hunting down Sharpie markers and untangling the packing tape dispenser. I picked all YA reads because I didn’t have a ton of time on my hands and needed something easy but entertaining. I wasn’t disappointed:

Divergent (Divergent, #1)

Divergent by Veronica Roth: A YA dystopian fiction set in the “ruins” of Chicago. I’ve been wanting to read this one, mainly because I have heard such good things about its sequel Insurgent. The basic premise follows a future society where each member falls into one of five factions, decided at the age of 16 in an aptitude test/simulation obstacle course. Based upon the results of your test, each member can choose to stay with family and friends in the home faction or choose a different route by transferring to another.  Beatrice admires the Dauntless across the way, seeing them fearlessly jump from trains or running at danger full speed. Their lives seem much more appealing than those in her home faction Abnegation, who choose a life of humble servitude to the other factions. This book serves as an introduction to a new world, full of intrigue and questions about the society, and it ends with a bang. I’m excited to read the next installment.

Crossed (Matched, #2)

Crossed by Ally Condie: This is the second of the Matched trilogy (read my review for Matched here). In crossed, Cassia and Ky find themselves outside of Society’s protection but not outside its reach. Both are trying to find one another in these Outer Provinces and trying to find answers about the Society. The book has some evenly mixed reviews on Goodreads, and I’m not typically a romance reader. Yet, I keep reading this series. I’m still interested. The author uses alternating chapters to reveal two points of view between Ky and Cassia, which usually doesn’t confuse me, but there were only subtle differences in voice at first (also, I later noticed, each chapter has a “Ky” or “Cassia” heading at its beginning. Yep. I’m so observant.) I think this would be a great series for middle grade readers, especially those transitioning to older stuff and need good writing and story but not steamy romance.

Hourglass (Hourglass, #1)

Hourglass by Mara McIntyre: This is a promising trilogy for young adult fiction, and with the second book Timepiece just released, it’s a perfect time to climb onboard. Emerson Cole longs to live a normal adolescence, yet since the tragic death of her parents, she has recurring visions of people from the past: a Southern Belle, a jazz trio, soldiers from years past. After trying everything to make the visions stop, her brother hires an agency called the Hourglass to help. Emerson meets Michael Weaver, and he seems to offer explanations to her visions without making her sound crazy.

I’ve read some adult fiction lately, too, so I’ll highlight those in my next post. Happy Reading, friends!

  1. #1 by Lauren@The Housework Can Wait on August 21, 2012 - 2:33 pm

    I lurve Hourglass and Timepiece hard core. I can’t seem to keep them in my house because as soon as they come home, I have turned around and foisted them into someone else’s hands and commanded them to read them. So far, all my unwitting recipients have been pleased 🙂

    Also, I see you’re reading False Prince and OH HEAVENS how I loved that one. I can’t wait for Rachel to be a little older so she can read it, because I think it is the perfect middle grade. If I was in charge of everything, it would be on all the middle school reading lists. Such lovely storytelling.

  2. #2 by kellywiggains on August 21, 2012 - 2:38 pm

    Yes, I’m reading the False Prince, mostly to recommend to my nephew who is 10 and also to stockpile a reading list when my boys are in that stage of reading, too. I already have a ton of “girl reads” for HB when she’s older.

  3. #3 by Elizabeth on August 21, 2012 - 2:52 pm

    I must admit, I have a ridiculously strong dislike of reading any trilogy that is not yet complete! 🙂 I’ll have to wait until book 3 comes out for both of those trilogies and then read the whole thing in one fell swoop.

  4. #4 by Jessica Howard (@quirkybookworm) on August 21, 2012 - 3:21 pm

    Ugh, I’m not excited about moving soon. This is the 17th place I’ve lived — but I’ve been here 6 years, longest I’ve ever lived anywhere! We’re moving in 2 months, and I’m dreading the process.

    Maybe I’ll also splurge on some YA to make me feel better about it. 🙂

  5. #5 by kellywiggains on August 22, 2012 - 7:23 am

    Elizabeth: As always, your decisions are very wise. Why build up all that angst in waiting?

    Jessica: Good luck with your move! Haven’t you moved the rest of your family this past month? That’s always how it goes in our family. Fruit basket turnover!

  6. #6 by Elizabeth on August 23, 2012 - 2:44 pm

    Ha ha…not wise. Simply impatient. I really hate waiting in the middle of a good story. 🙂

Leave a Reply

