My Favorite ABC Books

My baby girl is almost 2. In her honor, I would like to present my favorite ABC books. Learning the alphabet is a gateway to words, which is, of course, the gateway to the world. I want my littles to love to read and learn, so I started giving them those fundamental tools early. Along with saying the letters and playing with magnetic letter sets and drawing letters in sidewalk chalk, I also love to read ABC books with my kiddos. My youngest shows her pride at knowing the letter on the page just like her big brothers. It’s a big deal. Also this. I love when this happens:

Grab a copy of one of these at your local library, or click the links here and have Amazon deliver them to your door.

Chicka Chicka Boom Boom

1. Chicka Chicka Boom Boom. The best ABC book ever. My kids LOVE shouting Chicka Chicka Boom Boom at random times throughout the day. Such a fun and creative rhythmic book.

The City ABC Book

2. The City ABC Book by Zoran Milich. I love, love, love this book. The creator captured black and white photographs of every day city scenes and architecture. Then, he highlighted each outline of the alphabet letters in red. My kids eat this book up. It’s a puzzle. It’s learning. It’s beautiful.

Alphabet City

3. Alphabet City by Stephen T. Johnson. Much like The City ABC Book, this Caldecott-winning book captures the everyday still life of a city and transforms the photographs into gorgeous letter pictures.

Curious George's ABCs

4. Curious George Learns the ABCs by H.A. Rey. This is a board book version of this Curious George book, which is for older kiddos. I love both versions.

Dr. Seuss's ABC

5. Dr. Seuss’s ABC Book: Who doesn’t love Dr. Seuss? No one. That’s who. Rhyme, rhythm, learning, silliness all wrapped up in one book, typical of Dr. Seuss and why all humans adore him.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

