Bite-Sized: Quick Reviews of My Recent Reads

I’m happy to participate in a new monthly link-up hosted by Anne Bogel:

twitterature monthly reading link up short reviews

If you are looking for some great books to read, but you don’t want to read super long book reviews, this link up is a great place. We are all providing short and quick Twitter-style book reviews from our most recent reads.

Help, Thanks, Wow: The Three Essential Prayers by Anne Lamott: Expect the best of Anne, unfiltered, funny, quirky, profound. Not necessarily organized.

Year of Biblical Womanhood by Rachel Held Evans: One of the best books I’ve read in awhile, and one of the most important. Eschet Chayil!

Reached by Ally Condie: My favorite of this YA trilogy. We get to hear from Xander. Questions answered. Mystery still present. Creativity seen as vital in society.

The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Egenides: Eugenides intended to revive the marriage plot with a modern spin. I liked his premise but felt no emotional investment in his characters.

Check out Anne’s post here and find links to the other participants before heading out to the library today!

  1. #1 by Johanna on January 16, 2013 - 5:57 am

    Love seeing what you’re reading. I am way too wordy to do this…I’ll work on it though. Maybe next month? ;)

  2. #2 by Keri @ growinginhisglory on January 16, 2013 - 6:05 am

    I found you on Twitterature. Anne Lamott’s book is on my Goodreads shelf, but I’m very curious about Year of Biblical Womanhood. I’ve heard lots of mixed comments on it, particularly regarding the author’s interpretation of scripture. Now, I must invest in it! Thanks for sharing!

    Keri

    http://www.growinginhisglory.com

  3. #3 by Anne @ Modern Mrs Darcy on January 16, 2013 - 6:18 am

    Re: Anne Lamott and Rachel Held Evans: Yes and Yes! (Okay, I’m still waiting to read Help, Thanks, Wow–but that’s how I feel about it already.)

    I couldn’t agree more about The Marriage Plot. So much of it was done so well….and yet! I’d like to read Middlesex but haven’t yet.

    (Keri, I thought A Year of Biblical Womanhood was fantastic, and her tone was such that even dissenters could at least see she has a point. I was truly baffled by some of the nasty reviews I read.)

  4. #4 by kellywiggains on January 16, 2013 - 8:02 am

    Keri, I agree with Anne about A Year of Biblical Womanhood. Rachel approaches her experiences with grace, humor, and snark. But she approaches Scripture with humility and respect. I didn’t understand all the negative reviews either.

  5. #5 by Jillian Kay on January 16, 2013 - 8:47 am

    Thanks for reminding me about a Year Of Biblical Womanhood. I’ve had it on my list for a while and keep forgetting to pick it up.

  6. #6 by Jessica Howard (@quirkybookworm) on January 16, 2013 - 9:46 am

    I’ve really never heard great things about Eugenides. Slightly mystified by his popularity – guess we can blame Oprah?

  7. #7 by kellywiggains on January 16, 2013 - 9:56 am

    @Jessica: You may be right. He’s a great writer, and there were passages of The Marriage Plot that I just loved. The book as a whole lacked connection. Ultimately, I didn’t like how he portrayed the main female character – she never listened to anyone; she had very few female friends, and she found the male *ahem* anatomy more interesting than most women I know. It just seemed unrealistic.

  8. #8 by Sarah Ronk on January 17, 2013 - 8:31 am

    Hi! Stopping by from the Twitterature link-up. I have A Year of Biblical Womanhood on my stack, excited to get started!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 169 other followers

