Reading Goals for 2013

Something About The Way It's Written
Yesterday, I outlined most of my goals for the year for my different roles in life. I have also made some reading goals for the year to inform you, Dear Reader, about quality books and to keep track of my progress throughout the year. And, as always, “to improve my mind with extensive reading” (anything for you, Mr. Darcy). So, here we go. Reading Goals for the Year:

1. I have joined Jessica from Quirky Bookworm with her quest to read some classics in her “Classics Catch-Up Challenge.”

2. I want to be more accountable with my reading, so I am going to track the books I read through GoodReads and Pinterest. I will also add a tab on the blog of my reading for the year and give you guys a quick way to access my reviews.

3. As far as number of books, I don’t even know where to start. I’ve never been good at keeping up with what I have read, so this year is going to be more of a benchmark year – just to keep track of my progress and then set the bar higher or lower from there.

4. As a general rule, I want to incorporate more reading aloud time with my children. I tend to get lazy about this, so reading aloud is going to be the focus of our homeschool this semester.

Here’s a List of Books in my “To Read Pile” for now:

Classics for the “Classics Catch-Up Challenge” for January-February:

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

Spiritual Non-fiction Reads

A Year of Biblical Womanhood by Rachel Held Evans

Help, Thanks, Wow by Anne Lamott

Love Does by Bob Goff

General Fiction

Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh

Children’s Fiction

The Voyage of the “Dawn Treader” by C.S. Lewis

Winnie-the-Pooh by A.A. Milne

A Bear Called Paddington by Michael Bond

Beatrix Potter The Complete Tales by Beatrix Potter

On Writing

How to Become an Online Writer by Ruth Pound

Use Your Words: A Writing Guide for Mothers by Kate Hopper

31 Days to Finding Your Blogging Mojo by Bryan Allain

Other Non-Fiction

One Bite at a Time by Tsh Oxenreider

Organized Simplicity by Tsh Oxenreider

*photo credit

  1. #1 by Anne @ Modern Mrs Darcy on January 5, 2013 - 7:41 pm

    Brideshead is one of my favorites! And I love your spiritual nonfiction picks. (I haven’t gotten to Help, Thanks, Wow yet–but I am expecting great things!)

  2. #2 by kellywiggains on January 5, 2013 - 7:49 pm

    So many of my friends have said Brideshead is a favorite. Our library doesn’t have it, so I was super pumped to find it on Amazon for $1.99 this weekend. Thanks for stopping by, Anne. I admire your blog so much.

  3. #3 by Johanna on January 5, 2013 - 8:09 pm

    Love this list! I’m finishing up my reading goals list at the moment, but I am always looking for new titles throughout the year. Happy reading :)

  4. #4 by Jessica Howard (@quirkybookworm) on January 7, 2013 - 3:00 pm

    Yay! I’m so excited how many people are joining in. I’m impressed by how many nonfiction books you’re tackling too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 168 other followers

