My Goals for 2013

The new year's resolutions
For the past few years, my husband and I have been more specific with our New Year’s Resolutions, and like most people, we don’t quite reach all of the goals lined out for us. However, we enjoy looking back over the years and seeing how far we have come.

This past year, I planned some big goals, and we reached several of them, even though life got in the way. These are the goals we accomplished:

1. We paid off our car early.

2. I started a blog.

3. I posted regularly (for the most part. Life sometimes got in the way.).

4. I stopped drinking sodas.

5. We built up our emergency fund again.

6. We paid off some significant medical bills.

7. My husband and I went on a date at least once a month.

8. I scheduled every day on purpose (for the most part).

9. I set up an allowance system for my boys.

10. We started homeschooling officially.

There are several goals on my list from last year that I left uncrossed, but I’ve been happy with the changes I’ve made in my life as well as in the life of our family.

My husband and I are hitting 2013 with some new gusto, and I hope God blesses our endeavors. Here are a few of my goals for this year:

Professional Goals:

1. Move content over to kellywiggains.com.

2. Consistently write 3 posts a week or more.

3. Make money as a writer.

4. Build my reading audience through social media and guest posting.

5. Track my reading progress in GoodReads, Pinterest, and the blog.

Financial Goals:

1. Save a chunk of cash for a new (to us) car and for some upcoming medical procedures (shooting for $7500).

2. Save money for a small family vacation (most likely camping).

3. Save up more money for Christmas (even when we budget and economize, December seems to slam us. We are determined for it not to happen again.)

4. Make some extra income (to help pay for the above goals).

Marriage Goals:

1. Continue once a month dates.

Family Goals:

1. Take a family vacation.

2. Play Games, Spend Time Outdoors, or Read after dinner.

3. Schedule one-on-one reading time with each child as well as one-on-one recreational time with each child.

Homefront:

1. Schedule each day on purpose.

2. Set up a new cleaning schedule for this house.

3. Organize photos: printed and digital

4. Decorate the living room (It’s pathetically bare.)

5. Display more family pictures.

6. Set up shelving in the kitchen.

7. Streamline how we pack and travel on trips.

8. Paperwork: Get it all organized.

Homeschool:

1. Continue with Math, Reading, Writing, and Nature Exploration.

2. Start Journaling. Add more read aloud time, and add more science experiments.

2. Cultural Literacy: Study a composer a month, take more field trips to art galleries and/or concerts.

3. Start piano or violin lessons with my oldest.

4. Add structured Spelling, Grammar, and History Curriculum in the fall.

Health:

1. Drink a gallon of water a day.

2. Increase fruits and vegetables.

3. Decrease sugars and flours.

4. Keep a food journal.

5. Be active: walking, running with the kids, bike riding, exercise videos, etc.

Throughout the next few posts, I hope to outline some of my action steps to accomplish these goals, and I plan to keep track of my progress throughout the year. I’m also working on some reading goals for the year, but I haven’t outlined them. I will get back to you on those as well. Here’s wishing you a great 2013!

  1. #1 by Johanna on January 5, 2013 - 8:07 pm

    These are such great goals. I also did some blogging goals but I hadn’t outlined them completely when I shared my goals. I think I have a few nailed down though. Excited for this year! Hope you have a wonderful 2013!

  2. #2 by Hermelinda on September 15, 2013 - 11:16 am

    It’s very simple to find out any topic on web as compared to textbooks,
    as I found this piece of writing at this web
    site.

  1. Facing My Fears in 2013 « Kelly Wiggains
  2. Facing My Fears in 2013 - Kelly Wiggains

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 169 other followers

