Dark Chocolate, My New Best Friend

Hot Chocolate

photo via compfight.com

I used to hate dark chocolate. My family had Christmas countdown candy holders that hung on our wall, and every night we would unwrap a chocolate up until Christmas Eve. My mom always bought the bag of assorted chocolates from Hershey’s, and I would switch out the Special Darks for extra Krackles on my brother’s strings of chocolate. I’m sneaky like that.

However, adulthood opened my eyes to the beauty of dark chocolate. I thought I would share two ways you can easily get a dark chocolate fix.

1. Dark Chocolate Magic Shell. I have been making my own magic shell ice cream topping for a few months. It’s a great way to make a plain bowl of vanilla ice cream become a gourmet dessert. Take a heaping cup of chocolate chips, a half cup of coconut oil, and heat it up in the microwave for a few seconds. Stir it together and pour over ice cream. Now, regular chocolate chips make the stuff quite tasty. However, my mother-in-law buys the special super dark chocolate chips from Ghirardelli, and they are awesome. The magic shell becomes even more chocolatey and rich. Store leftovers in the fridge and heat it up again on your next ice cream night.

2. Dark Chocolate Sheet Cake: My best buddy made this discovery when she needed to make a sheet cake, and the only cocoa she had on hand was Hershey’s Special Dark Cocoa (Yes, it’s a thing. I had no idea.) that her mother-in-law bought to make some delicious dessert when she was visiting. So, take your regular sheet cake recipe and replace regular cocoa with dark chocolate cocoa. Oh, man. So good. Plus, the sheet cake is the easiest and cheapest cake on earth to make. (Need the recipe? If you’re from Texas, just check your nearest church cookbook. There will be an entire section dedicated to sheet cake. This is also a great one.)

So. There you go. Two simple ways to experience a little extraordinary in your daily life.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 169 other followers

